## Minutes of the Fiftieth Annual General Meeting of the Salt Spring Island Fire Protection District held at the Fire Hall, Ganges, on April 19, 2010.

In attendance: Trustees: Chair M. Schubart, M.Gillies, G.Eckberg, R. Hannah, A. Kennedy, J. MacAulay, B. Patterson, Fire Chief Bremner, M. Wyatt, Nell Bushby and Auditor Jean Elwell, and 17 residents.

Chair M.Schubart called the meeting to order at 7.30 pm and welcomed the attendees and introduced the trustees, staff, and auditor sitting at the main table.

Minutes of the Forty-Ninth Annual General Meeting were received, reviewed and accepted by general consent.

The Audited Financial Report was presented by Jean Elwell CA (attached to the original minutes), and was accepted by general consent.

The Chair's Report was presented by Michael Schubart, (attached to the original minutes) and was accepted by general consent.

The Fire Chief's Report was presented by Chief Tom Bremner, (attached to the original minutes) and was accepted by general consent.

The Volunteer Association's Report was presented by Mark Wyatt, (Attached to the original minutes) and was accepted by general consent.

## **Election Results.**

Richard Hannah presented the nomination results from Tom Moore. No election was necessary since only 2 nominations were received.

Michael Schubart and Ronald Chamney were elected by acclamation for 3 year terms.

## **Old Business**

At the 2009 AGM the issue was raised from the floor, that Trustees receive no compensation for time spent on District business even though there is compensation on the books. The chair reported that the Trustees had discussed this matter and agreed that it was not appropriate at this time to be compensated.

## **New Business**

The Chair thanked Tony Kennedy for his diligent work over the past 3 years as a Trustee.

Nell Bushby, Corporate and Financial Administrator
Michael Schubart, Chair of Trustees
Motion to Adjourn from Ben Taylor at 8.20 pm.
The meeting ended with questions and discussions from the floor.
The Chair welcomed Ron Chamney as the newly elected Trustee